Emerson Rodwell and Kim Fazackerley Medal Winners Announced
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Wed Mar 25, 2020 5:17PM

In light of the current climate, Cricket Tasmania announced it's Cricket Tasmania Premier League awards via Social Media, with Trent Keep (Kingborough) as well as Emily Mifsud (New Town) and Emma Thompson (Clarence) claiming the top awards for the season.




Kingborough Captain/Coach Claims Rodwell Medal


After deflecting from South Hobart Sandy Bay for greater leadership opportunities, Kingborough’s Captain/Coach Trent Keep has taken out the Emerson Rodwell Medal for the 2019/20 season.


Despite reaching triple figures only twice prior to this season in his CTPL career, it was evident that Keep had a point to prove, and he did so in emphatic fashion scoring 924 runs at 77.00 which included four centuries against the GN Raiders (160no), SHSB (105no) and back-to-back tons in the final two rounds of the season against Glenorchy (117) and eventual premiers Lindisfarne (102).


At 26-years-old, we might be just starting to see the best of Keep. The Latrobe born batsmen has been a journeyman in his short career, after stints in Hobart at SHSB followed by a move to Adelaide, Keep moved back to Latrobe to help his boyhood club win the CNW 1st Grade title in 2017/18 then moving back to SHSB in 2018/19 prior to this season. 


At the halfway mark of the season, only one vote separated Keep, Daniel Salpietro (Clarence) and Charlie Wakim (Lindisfarne) but with two rounds to go, Keep (22) scored back-to-back centuries and claimed five out of a possible six votes to jump ahead of Salpietro (20) and Wakim (18) to secure the competitions top honour.


2015/16 Emerson Rodwell Medallist Salpietro (659 runs @ 41.19) and Wakim (884 runs) both had stand-out seasons while fourth place Nuwan Kavinda (818 runs @ 68.17) was rewarded with a call up to Tasmania’s 2nd XI team following an exceptional first season at University.


Clarence and New Town Pair Share Fazackerley Medal


After finishing equal second and just one vote behind Ashley Day in 2018/19, Emma Thompson (Clarence) and Emily Mifsud (New Town/Kingborough) once again finished on an equal tally (21 votes), but this season there was none better with the duo sharing the coveted Fazackerley Medal honour for the 2019/20 season.


One of the leading players since the competition’s inception in 2009/10, Thompson had a stellar season, scoring 516 at 57.33 with a top score of 95no as well as claiming 11 wickets at a miserly 11.27.


 After moving to Tasmania last season from New South Wales, Mifsud has asserted herself as one of the competitions most talented cricketers and showcased her talent with 489 runs at 61.13 (including one century) and claiming 13 wickets at 13.46. In addition, Mifsud also captained New Town’s 3rd Grade Men's team where she led the club to a finals spot.


After eight rounds, Mifsud and Thompson were equal on 14 votes before Thompson took the lead midway through the Kookaburra Cup (One-Day) rounds and had a lead of three votes with two rounds to go.


An unbeaten century from Mifsud against Glenorchy helped seal three votes for her to equal Thompson at the top before both players finished on 21 votes at the end of the season.


Despite playing WBBL for the Sydney Sixers and WNCL for Tasmania, English import Hollie Armitage, who finished the season as leading run scorer, finished in second place with 20 votes while former Fazackerley medallists and Lindisfarne players Veronica Pyke (18 votes) and Paris Crowe (16 votes) finished in fourth and fifth place respectively.


Click here for a full list of award winners from all CTPL grades from the 2019/20 season


Last updated: Friday March 27, 2020 1:16PM