CTPL Men's 1st Grade T20 Preview
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:43PM

They have been the benchmark teams right throughout the Twenty20 Competition and now Clarence and Lindisfarne are set to face each other in the 2019/20 Twenty20 Grand Final at Blundstone Arena.


CTPL Men’s 1st Grade T20 Ladder


The teams were tied on equal points at the top of the table up until last Saturday, where the two sides met each other for the first time in the final round of the competition. Clarence came home with a convincing 50-run win, but in this format of the game things can change quickly.


Both Lindisfarne and Clarence have a quality line up, and for the Lightning to reverse the result of the last round, Charlie Wakim will need to be firing at the top of the order and will need to do it without his partner in crime in Mac Wright who has been selected in the Hobart Hurricanes squad. With the ball, the Lightning will be looking to experienced duo in Matt Wilkie (10 wickets @ 5.33 economy rate) and Anthony Marr (9 @ 6.50) who have once again been exceptional with the ball this campaign.


Clarence will hope to repeat their efforts from throughout the tournament where they are yet to lose a game, they have had several people contribute with both bat and ball during this competition but will be hoping pocket rocket Dan Salpietro can be at his blistering best this Wednesday.


Salpietro has made 238 runs to be the competitions leading run scorer, he has also been striking the ball at an impressive 141.7, while experience wicket-keeper batsmen Michael Jones has had a stellar campaign and proving to be Clarence’s linchpin with 170 runs @ a strike-rate of 111.10


Play gets underway this Wednesday Night at 6:00pm. Entry is accessible via the Northern Gate at Blundstone Arena (Corner of Church and Derwent Streets) and the canteen will be open at the Northern End of the ground.


The match will also be live streamed via the Premier League website and on the Cricket Tasmania Premier League match center here:


Clarence: Michael Jones (8), Sam Rainbird (14), Alex Treanor (15), Daniel Salpietro (16), Lawrence Neil-Smith (19), Justin Galeotti (21), Wade Irvine (23), Damien Paul (28), Lachlan Borsboom (34), Liam Devlin (35), Ned Absolom (36), Matthew Beven (55), Harry Allanby (63), Steven Wild (70).


Lindisfarne: Matthew Wilkie (1), Charlie Wakim (5), Ant Marr (8), Kieran Gilbert (9), Daniel Chapman (15), Jackson Grubb (23), James Bourke (25), Sam Underhill (26), Jarrod Freeman (31), Declan Waddington (35), Thomas McGann (47), Alex Bevilaqua (56), Keegan Oates (99)



Last updated: Friday January 31, 2020 8:06AM