Lindisfarne are the 2018/19 Detail First Premier League Men's Premiers
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Sat Mar 30, 2019 7:23PM

Lindisfarne Cricket Club claimed their first premiership since 2010/11 in spectacular fashion, defeating reigning premiers Clarence on the second day off the Detail First Premier League Grand Final.


Lindisfarne came out swinging after seeing out the final session of play on Day 1 with Charlie Wakim and Ben McDermott still at the crease.


The pair left no doubt as to their intentions as both players brought up their half centuries well before lunch.  A frustrated Clarence bowling attack were unable to put a halt to the partnership that soon developed into centuries for both players after lunch, Ben McDermott hitting his ton as Lindisfarne cruised to 2/241.  Lightning captain Wakim was soon to follow, notching his own ton as the side sped to figures of 2/280.  


It was Lawrence Neil-Smith that finally took the scalp of the captain, Wakim caught in front of the stumps on 117 off 236 deliveries.  However, the jubilation of the Roos was short-lived, as McDermott took up a new partnership with the incoming Keegan Oates.  McDermott simply couldn’t be stopped, hitting glorious shots all around the ground off the entire Clarence bowling attack.  His magnificent effort of 217* with the bat broke the 35 year old record for the highest individual score in a Grand Final, which was previously held by Lindsay Davison of Glenorchy Cricket Club.  


Clarence could to little to stem the flow of runs, Oates himself putting in a strong performance to finish with 53* off 106 deliveries.  The Lightning finished 3/460 at the end of the days play, losing only the three wickets across their 124 overs.  For his record-breaking performance with the bat, Ben McDermott was awarded the Roger Woolley Medal for Player of the Final.

Last updated: Sunday March 31, 2019 1:36PM