Allanby and Day Take Top Honours
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Thu Mar 28, 2019 12:02PM

Clarence's Harry Allanby and University's Ashley Day have taken out CTPL's highest honours at last night's Rodwell and Fazackerly Medal Dinner held at Blundstone Arena. 


Clarence gun all-rounder Harry Allanby has become the first player since Mark Divin (2010-11 and 2011-12) to win back-to-back Rodwell Medals at last night's Rodwell and Fazackerley Medals Dinner.

Leading from the front once again, Allanby backed up a sensational 2017-18 season to help Clarence to another CTPL 1st Grade Finals campaign.

Starring with both the bat and ball throughout the season, the number of games in which Allanby polled 3 votes is a testament to his form and versatility. Scoring 561 runs @ 33.00 and taking 28 wickets @ 17.79 throughout the 2018/19 season, Allanby’s match winning performances regularly got his side out of trouble.

A high score of 74 in Round 20 against Glenorchy, followed up by 69 against New Town the following week were two of five half centuries scored by Allanby consistently managed to pile on runs towards the back of the Clarence line-up. With bowling figures that often featured multiple wickets, Round 2 saw his season’s best figures as he took 5/47 against University.

Mac Wright (913 runs @ 70.23) and Charlie Wakim (739 runs @ 52.79) both had stand-out performances with the bat, Wakim being called up for Tiger’s duties towards the end of the season.

Allanby joins an illustrious group of players including Divin (Kingborough), Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB) and Ian Beven (Clarence) to claim back-to-back medals.


Meanwhile, University of Tasmania CC’s Ashley Day claimed the Kim Fazackerley medal for 2018-19.

Day was named in the Female Tiger’s Squad and represented the Hobart Hurricanes in the WBBL over the 2018-2019 season.

Day had a blistering start to the CTPL season, with 53 runs in the opening Twenty20 round and following up in the new One-Day format with an unbeaten 182*. She would go on to score another six half centuries throughout the season, almost reaching triple figures again in Round 4 against Clarence with 96 not out.

The stand-out runs scorer for the season, Day scored a total of 499 runs in T20 matches with an average of 83.17, while in the Kookaburra Cup she averaged 275 with an aggregate score of 275, thanks to her unbeaten 182* in Round 1.

Mifsud and Thompson both continued their excellent form in the 2018-2019 season, polling 20 votes apiece and having great finishes to their seasons. Beth Dodd, Beth Langston and Brooke Hepburn were again high in the count, familiar names amongst the top votes.


Last updated: Thursday March 28, 2019 12:22PM