Milenko Magic Inspires Sharks Kookaburra Cup Triumph
Date of Event : Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:55PM

The 2019 Kookaburra Cup Grand Final went the way of South Hobart / Sandy Bay on Sunday, with some classy bowling on the part of both sides ensuring an action packed match at Blundstone Arena.




Lindisfarne sent SHSB in to bat and would have been confident early taking the wicket of T Keep for just a single.  Fortunately for the batting side, Sean Willis (35), Simon Milenko (45), Caleb Oakes (35) and Hamish Kingston (48) all made strong contributions to the total, allowing the side to post a total of 213 from their overs.  Lightning quick, Nathan Ellis did the damage with the ball for the bowling side, with figures of 4-31, while T Briscoe enjoyed 3 wickets himself for 48 runs. 




Missing batsman Charlie Wakim due to Tigers duties, Lindisfarne had their work cut out for them in chasing down the SHSB total.  Things looked bad early on as Mac Wright fell for 8 to Hamish Kingston, and Simon Milenko ripped through the batting line-up in spectacular fashion (4-25), with no batsmen hitting over 20 runs until Jarrod Freeman took the crease.  Freeman managed a hard fought 40 before being dismissed, which signalled a collapse for the Lindisfarne tail.  Hamish Kingston (2-20) and K Wisniewski (2-13) ensured that the tail didn’t see out their innings, as Lindisfarne were knocked over in the 31st over for 108.


Simon Milenko was awarded the Danny Buckingham Player of the Final with his all-round display of 45 with the bat and 4-25 with the white Kookaburra. 

Last updated: Monday March 18, 2019 10:32AM