South Hobart Sandy Bay and Lindisfarne Through to Kookaburra Cup Final
Date of Event : Sun Feb 10, 2019 8:48PM

South Hobart Sandy Bay and Lindisfarne are through to the final of the Men’s Kookaburra Cup Grand Final at Blundstone Arena on Sunday 24th February after both sides had wins in the final round of competition.


The Sharks produced a mirror image performance of their round 6 clash against the Bucks by defeating the Magpies by 8-wickets and claiming a bonus point. The Magpies were sent into bat by the Sharks but struggled to post a big score with Umair Butt the top scorer for the hosts with 45. In reply, it was a dominant batting display by Trent Keep (67*) and Harry Nichols (61*) that got the visitors over the line in the 38th over.


At University Oval, Lindisfarne showed their class by securing a double bonus point 8-wicket win over the students. The win leapfrogged them into 2nd spot and clinched a spot in the final. With the match affected by rain, University’s first innings was reduced to 45 overs and they could only manage 8-163 with Mauro Saracino the top scorer with 62. Tom Briscoe and Jarrod Freeman picked up 3 wickets a piece. In reply, it was the Mac Wright show with the Lindisfarne opener blasting an unbeaten 103 from 63 balls to guide his side to the 166 DLS target inside 19 overs.


At New Town Oval, in the Scott Mason Memorial Match, Clarence took the spoils in a tight 6 wicket win. With the Bucks sent in by the Roos, they looked nervous early and at one stage were in serious strife at 6-92, however club stalwart Nathan Wegman came to the rescue blasting a 54 ball 84 and salvage the home sides innings to 194. With the Roos needing a double bonus point win to go through to the final, Harry Allanby was on track to get them their until he fell for 54. Keeper Michael Jones tried to the keep the sides hopes alive with a hard fought 48 but they couldn’t find the bonus point win needed to send them through to the final.


And at the TCA Ground, it was the Sean Harris show with the Raider blasting the clubs first One-Day century and highest score in all formats securing his side a 6-wicket win over the Demons. In just his second game for the club, the opener blasted a masterful 173 from 146 to guide his side to the 291-run target set by the Demons in just the 42 over. Demon Corey Murfet was also just as good in the first innings for the home side notching a huge 134 from 117 balls.



North Hobart 7/290(cc) (CJ Murfet 134 R Macmillan 48 A Pyecroft 34  LC Ryan 2/37 JS Beattie 2/51) def by. Greater Northern 4/294 (S Harris 173* AE Paraam 57 A Taylor 32)


University of Tasmania 8/163(cc) (MC Saracino 62 C Brown 50  JA Freeman 3/21 TA Briscoe 3/42 N Ellis 2/21) def by. Lindisfarne 2/167 (MB Wright 103* CA Wakim 38)


New Town 194 (N Wegman 84 H Williams 53  H Allanby 3/43 I Salter 2/48) def by. Clarence 6/195 (H Allanby 53 M Jones 48 L Devlin 33  T Mupariwa 2/25 RA Lees 2/50)


Glenorchy 7/174(cc) (U Butt 45 N Matthews 29*  W Thompson 2/29) def by. South Hobart Sandy Bay 2/173(cc) (T Keep 67* H Nichols 61* S Willis 31)

Last updated: Monday March 18, 2019 10:31AM