Detail First Men’s Round 18 & Women's Rd 12 Preview
Date of Event : Fri Feb 8, 2019 1:30PM

Men’s Round 18 Preview + Team Lists


The final round of the Kookaburra Cup prior to finals promises to be an action packed weekend, with a finals berth on the line for two sides.


Second placed Clarence travel to New Town Oval to face the Bucks on Saturday in a must win clash.  Sitting on equal points with Lindisfarne, the Roos will be looking to seal their claim on a Grand Final berth at the end of the month with a convincing win against the ninth placed Bucks.  New Town will undoubtedly come out ready to play this weekend, hoping to upset the Roos finals dreams and clinch their first win for the season in the one-day format.


Fourth placed University host third placed Lindisfarne at University Oval in what could be called the match of the round.  Sitting just outside of finals contention, a big win over University good see Lindisfarne leap into second position should they claim maximum points from the round.  While finals appearance is out of the question for the home side at this stage, Uni will be hoping to spoil Lindisfarne’s weekend with an upset win and gain some momentum heading back into the two-day format next weekend.


KGV Oval sees Glenorchy take on the top places South Hobart / Sandy Bay this weekend, the sixth placed side looking to replicate their spectacular bowling attack from the last round to catapult them from sixth to fourth and give the side a confidence boost as they look towards the end of the season.  As SHSB sit six points clear at the top of the table and have yet to drop a game in this season’s Kookaburra Cup, the Sharks will be confident in their ability to continue their unbeaten streak in the final round of the season.


Greater Northern make the trip south to face a fifth placed North Hobart side this weekend.  The eighth placed Raiders, after batting well last weekend yet still going down convincingly to Lindisfarne will be eager to get their form back on track with a win at the TCA Ground.  After failing to play a match last weekend due to their match being abandoned, the Demons will be keen to play and will be looking for a dominant performance to finish up their Kookaburra Cup season.


New Town (9) v Clarence (2)

New Town: H Williams(c), R Lees, J Kessell, J Vince, J Randall, T Millhouse, A Keeling, S Wright, T Mupariwa, N Wegman, A Denby

Clarence: H Allanby(c), D Salpietro, J Dinnie, W Irvine, I Salter, A Treanor, D Meredith, A Smith, L Devlin, N Absolom, M Jones


University (4) v Lindisfarne (3)

University: N Grubb(c), C Brown, M Saracino, N van de Werken, J Hortle, S Leon, J Freeman, J Di Venuto, J Bilson, J Greenwood, J Logan

Lindisfarne: C Wakim(c), M Wilkie, J Grubb, J Harris, O Wray, T Briscoe, D Chapman, M Wright, N Ellis, J Freeman, K Oates


Glenorchy (6) v SHSB (1)

Glenorchy: N Matthews(c), T Coates, M Dilger, J Bowen, B Mayne, N Kavinda, U Butt, F Raja, A Mirza, D Janoti, M Afzal

SHSB: S Willis(c), M Clark, T Keep, H Nichols, C Oakes, H Kingston, K Hine, G Bell, K Wisniewski, W Thompson, E Gulline


North Hobart (5) v Greater Northern (8)

North Hobart: A Pyecroft(c), D Rawlings, R Macmillan, C Murfet, I Manson, N Davis, J Doran, J White, W Collins, K Applebee, B Fraser

Greater Northern: M Barnard(c), O Wood, A Taylor, T Gray, S Harris, J Beattie, L Ryan, J Williams, L Newland, A Paraam, B Cassidy




Women’s Round 12 Preview + Team Lists


The Premier League Women make a return to T20 matches this weekend, with plenty of finals spots still up for grabs in what promises to be a round to watch.


Clarence host South Hobart / Sandy Bay at Kangaroo Bay on Sunday, the fifth placed Roos sitting just one point out of semi-finals contention as the ladder stands.  A convincing win over SHSB would hold the home side in good stead to make a run at a third or fourth place finish, while the visitors will be looking to upset those plans, hoping to clinch their fourth win of the season and keep their own dreams of a finals berth alive, should other round results fall in their favour.


Top placed University travel to Lindisfarne Oval to take on fourth placed Lindisfarne in what promises to be an action packed match.  Yet to drop a match and sitting well clear at the top of the table, the visitors will be confident in their ability to maintain their unbeaten streak in the T20 format and carry that form through to finals. With only one point separating fourth and fifth, Lindisfarne face the daunting task of knocking off the top side should they hope to retain their spot in the top four.  While a big win could see them push up towards third, a loss will do serious damage to their finals chances.


Kingborough make the journey up to KGV Oval to face off against Glenorchy this weekend, with the bottom placed home side desperate to claim and win and improve their chances of leaving the bottom of the table.  However, the visiting Kingborough side will have other ideas; poised in third position on the table and still capable of making a run at second place, they will be intent on claiming victory and consolidating their chances of hosting a semi-final.


North Hobart take on New Town at the TCA Ground this weekend, with sides positioned second and sixth on the ladder respectively.  North Hobart, still positioned to make a run at first place should they claim a victory, will be facing a determined New Town outfit, with the Bucks still in the hunt for a finals berth should they take the four points and continue forward with some solid form.



Clarence (5) v SHSB (7)

Clarence: E Thompson(c), N Pearce, K Cole, B Grant, M Murray, N Murray, E Roberts, M Brooks, T Brooks, A Plath, K Wills, O McDonald

SHSB: B Dodd(c), K Court, B Schiwy, A Green, L Astell, C Assmann, S Cartwright, H Powe, C Squires, C Hall, A Hartley


Lindisfarne (4) v University (1)

Lindisfarne: V Pyke(c), P Crowe, G Alomes, C Raack, S Alomes, N Erends, L Johnson, M O'Rourke, J Kennedy, K Banks, K Doran

University: S Moloney(c), M Blazely, D Srinivas, C Scott, S Parkin, A Clifford, L Maddock, J Triffitt, C Abel, J Crowden, A Day


Kingborough (3) v Glenorchy (8)

Kingborough: B Davies(c), L Hepburn, M Harrison, R Styles, A Small, L Wierenga, A Kelly, L Hay, E Coad, E Bradburn, B Hepburn, K Coppleman, N Carter

Glenorchy: TBC


North Hobart (2) v New Town (6)

North Hobart: H Short(c), S Daffara, T Purton, B Page, M Armstrong, E Marsh, B Langston, K Palfrey, J Davis, B Doyle, K Byers, M Banks

New Town: TBC


Last updated: Monday March 18, 2019 10:31AM