Round 17 Men's & Round 11 Women's Preview
Date of Event : Fri Feb 1, 2019 2:37PM
Lindisfarne welcome the return of Charlie Wakim ahead of their clash against the Raiders in Burnie

Round 17 Men’s Kookaburra Cup Preview & Team Lists


Kookaburra Cup action heats up this weekend with Lindisfarne and South Hobart Sandy Bay aiming to extend their leads at the top of the table by claiming maximum points in their match up’s against Greater Northern and New Town respectively.


Lindisfarne travel to West Park in Burnie to take on a Raiders side fresh off a week’s break. The Lightning will be hopeful of securing maximum points and a return to 2nd spot against the boys from the North and will be bolstered by the return of key batsmen Charlie Wakim and Mac Wright from Futures duties. Lindisfarne have already enjoyed success up North this season, beating the Raiders by 5 wickets in the T/20 rounds, so will be hopeful of another repeat performance. 


SHSB will be hoping to claim maximum points and cement a Grand Final spot when they do battle with New Town at home. The Sharks will again turn to star speedster, Gabe Bell, to lead from the front and deliver another inspiring bowling performance, however, he will be partnered by the return of in-form Kyle Wisniewski from Futures duties which will bolster the Sharks bowling attack more than ever.   


At University Oval, the students take on a red-hot North Hobart in what will be a challenging contest for the hosts. University will need to be at their very best if they are to contain a full-strength Demons side who have named Caleb Jewell, Jake Doran, Tom Rogers and Alex Pyecroft. The winner of this will secure a top 4 spot and still be in the hunt for a GF berth.


And at KGV Oval, the Mapgies, fresh off a dominant display against New Town, will again look for maximum points when they do battle against the Knights. The hosts have named an un-changed lineup and will again turn to Ahsan Mizra to again wreak havoc and collect another 5-wicket haul. For the Knights, they welcome back Hurricane spin wizard, Clive Rose.



Greater Northern (8) v Lindisfarne (3)

Greater Northern: M Barnard(c), B Hayes, S Redman, J Williams, A Taylor, B Bodha, O Wood, T Gray, J Chapman, A Kerrison, J Beattie

Lindisfarne: M Wilkie(c), M Wright, K Oates, C Wakim, J Grubb, J Harris, N Ellis, J Freeman, O Wray, T Briscoe, A Summers


University (4) v North Hobart (5)

University: N Grubb(c), S Leon, N van de Werken, C Brown, A Kealy, J Hortle, J Clifford, J Di Venuto, C Greenwell, J Freeman, J Logan

North Hobart: C Jewell(c), K Applebee, J Doran, J White, T Rogers, R Macmillan, A Pyecroft, R May, C Murfet, B Fraser, N Davis


Glenorchy (7) v Kingborough (6)

Glenorchy: N Matthews(c), D Moody, T Coates, M Dilger, J Bowen, J Kaye, B Mayne, N Kavinda, U Butt, F Raja, A Mirza

Kingborough: C Rose(c), M Backhouse, T Martyn, S Martyn, J Steele, M Bigwood, R Backhouse, D Hay, M Owen, R Ward, Z Adams


South Hobart/Sandy Bay (1) v New Town (9)

SHSB: S Willis(c), H Nichols, T Keep, A Doolan, S Milenko, C Oakes, H Kingston, S Martin, K Wisniewski, W Thompson, G Bell

New Town: H Williams(c), R Lees, J Kessell, J Vince, T Willmott, J Randall, T Millhouse, A Keeling, S Wright, T Mupariwa, F Keeling



Round 11 Women’s Twenty20 Preview & Team Lists


After a brief interlude that saw sides finalise their spots in the Grand Final of the Kookaburra Cup, Women’s Premier League Cricket returns to the T20 format this weekend and with only four rounds remaining.  The pressure is on for teams to perform at their best if looking for a semi-finals berth come March 10th.


In what may shape up to be the most impactful match of the round, Clarence host Kingborough at Kangaroo Bay Oval and will be looking to make inroads towards the top of the table.  Kingborough, sitting on equal points with Lindisfarne and in third position on the ladder, could be catapulted out of the top four if Lindisfarne and Clarence both claim a victory.  The Roos will be hungry for a win after having the week off last week, while Kingborough will be looking to carry on their form from their last Kookaburra Cup match, which saw them convincingly dispatch North Hobart after a match winning unbeaten innings from Emily Divin of 70 off 86 deliveries.


Table leaders University take on New Town at University Oval, with University confident in their ability to take the win and continue their unbeaten form of ten wins from ten matches against the sixth placed Bucks.  An outstanding unbeaten batting performance by Ashley Day (82) last week and an all-round bowling masterclass by University saw them down New Town effortlessly and will boost the confidence of the side.  However, while currently sitting outside of finals contention, New Town are more than capable of upsetting the team to beat and will be hopeful of making the top four on the back of some strong performances in the back end of the season, as well as other results falling in their favour.


Lindisfarne make the journey across the river to face South Hobart/Sandy Bay at Queenborough Oval, with pressure sitting across the shoulders of the fourth placed Lindisfarne team more so than the seventh placed SHSB side.  With Clarence nipping at their heels and with the opportunity to jump over Kingborough and threaten North Hobart in second place, Lindisfarne will be looking for a strong performance after failing to field a side against Clarence last weekend.  Their opposition will be fighting for pride, with a bottom of the table finish on the cards should they fail to perform in the late stages of the season.


Glenorchy and North Hobart face off at KGV Oval, both sides coming off worse for wear after thorough losses to their opposition last weekend.  While North Hobart retain second spot at the top of the T20 table, it looks unlikely that University will drop enough matches to be caught in the renaming rounds.  The Demons will be looking to cement their second-place position with a big win over Glenorchy to avoid the possibility of facing University until the Grand Final, while Glenorchy will endeavor to upset those plans and make a move off the bottom of the ladder.



Clarence (5) v Kingborough (3)

Clarence: O McDonald(c), N Pearce, K Cole, B Grant, M Murray, N Murray, M Brooks, T Brooks, A Gadd, K Wills, M Harper, E Roberts, A Plath

Kingborough: E Divin(c), L Hepburn, R Styles, L Wierenga, A Kelly, L Hay, E Coad, E Bradburn, B Davies, M Harrison, A Small


University (1) v New Town (6)

University: TBC

New Town: E Mifsud(c), E Molnar, H Wilson, F Sullivan, E Philpott, K Gray, M Waddington, C Ames, M Shelverton, C McLoughlin, G Molnar, E Turmine, S Reid


South Hobart Sandy Bay (7) v Lindisfarne (4)

SHSB: B Dodd(c), K Court, B Schiwy, A Green, L Astell, C Assmann, S Cartwright, H Powe, C Squires, E Powe, C Bullen

Lindisfarne: P Crowe(c), G Alomes, C Raack, S Alomes, T Honey, L Johnson, M O'Rourke, K Doran, K Banks, K Aitken, J Kennedy


Glenorchy (8) v North Hobart (2)

Glenorchy: TBC

North Hobart: H Short(c), S Daffara, T Purton, B Page, M Armstrong, E Marsh, B Langston, K Palfrey, J Davis, B Doyle, K Byers, M Banks

Last updated: Monday March 18, 2019 10:31AM