Sharks Claim Maximum Points & Top Spot in Rd 3 Kookaburra Cup Action
Date of Event : Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:17PM
Gabe Bell on his way to career best CTPL figures in South Hobart Sandy Bay's clash against University on Saturday


The Sharks claimed maximum points in Kookaburra Cup action at home on Saturday after defeating University by 8-wickets. Tasmanian Tigers fast bowler Gabe Bell was the star for the home side, wreaking havoc through the University batting line-up, taking career best figures of 6/9 from his 10 overs.


With the students winning the toss and batting first, all they could muster was 62 before being bowled out in the 31st over. In reply, South Hobart Sandy Bay made light work of the small total, reaching it hallway through the 10th over with Alex Doolan and Simon Milenko both not out on 39 and 13 respectively.


At the TCA Ground, newly crowned T/20 Champions North Hobart continued on their winning ways defeating the Knights by 97 runs. Caleb Jewell was again the start for the Demons producing a classy century as he guided his side to 9/263 from their allotted 50 overs. In reply, Mitch Backhouse and Dylan Hay looked strong, however some wonderful bowling by Robb Macmillan proved the difference with Kingborough bowled all out for 166 in the 42nd over.


At Lindisfarne Oval, Clarence leapfrogged the Lightning into 2nd place with a convincing 100 run win. The Lightning won the toss and sent the Roos into bat. From the get go, the Roos looked troubled losing their captain Harry Allanby for 2 after being cleaned bowled by fellow captain Matt Wilkie. However, it was Alec Smith (36) and Ned Absolom (60) who helped resurrect the Roos innings guiding them to a respectable 8/232 rom their 50 overs. In response, the Lighting never looked like getting to the total after openers Keegan Oates and Jed Steele were both dismissed for 5. Declan Waddington (32) attempted to guide his side to the total but it was Roos fast bowler Daniel Meredith who proved the difference, taking 3-16 and limiting the home side to 132 from 41.1 overs.


And at New Town Oval, in the Brian Eade Memorial match, Glenorchy took the spoils and maximum points defeating the Bucks by 9 wickets. With New Town winning the toss, they elected to have a bat first and looked in trouble early losing captain Hugh Williams for 2. Joe Randall (27) and Sam Wright (23) attempted to steady the ship but it was the bowling of Magpies star Ahsan Mirza that proved to be the difference with the Qalander taking CTPL best figures of 5/18 and in the process restricting the Bucks to 108.   In reply, the Magpies made light work of the total set by New Town reaching it in the 25th over with David Moody (47*) and Nuwan Kavinda (50*) not out at the crease.



Round 3 Men’s Kookaburra Cup Results


Lindisfarne 132 (DJ Waddington 32  D Meredith 3/16 A Treanor 2/26) def by. Clarence 8/232(cc) (N Absolom 60 A Smith 36 D Salpietro 33 J Dinnie 30 W Irvine 26*  MJ Wilkie 3/37 JA Freeman 3/43)


New Town 108 (J Randall 27  A Mirza 5/18 F Raja 3/31) def by. Glenorchy 1/112(cc) (N Kavinda 50* D Moody 47*)


South Hobart Sandy Bay 2/64(cc) (AJ Doolan 39*) def. University of Tasmania 62 (G Bell 6/9 W Thompson 3/16)


North Hobart 9/263(cc) (C Jewell 101 K Applebee 52 JR Doran 28 MJ Owen 2/36 T Martyn 2/38 M Bigwood 2/56) def. Kingborough 166 (M Backhouse 45 D Hay 41 MJ Owen 36 R Macmillan 6/37)

Last updated: Monday March 18, 2019 10:31AM