CTPL Team of the Decade 2006/07 - 2015/16
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:10PM

Dual Rodwell Medalist Mark Divin has been named captain of the CTPL Team of the Decade for the 2006/07 to 2015/16 period, in a side featuring a number of outstanding all-rounders.

The Kingborough veteran claimed the Medal in the 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons, and is joined in the team by fellow Rodwell Medalists Graeme Cunningham (2003-04), Alex Doolan (2007-08), Jon Wells (2013-14), Luke Butterworth (2014-15) and Coach Brett Geeves (2012-13).

Divin began his CTPL career with immediate success at Kingborough in the 2006/07 season, winning premierships with the club that season and going back to back in 2007/08. In the 2006/07 Grand Final Divin scored 128 not out in a match winning undefeated third-wicket partnership of 288 with David Dawson successfully chasing South Hobart Sandy Bay’s score of 402. Divin also featured prominently in Kingborough’s 2011-12 Grand Final loss to Clarence, taking 10/192 for the match.

A genuine all-rounder, Divin’s 2010-11 and 2011-12 seasons were the most dominant of his career to date, taking 115 wickets @ 13.32 and scoring 1,318 runs @ 38.76 across the two seasons. Divin is now approaching the 300 career wickets milestone, with 296 @ 16.02 whilst he recently past 3000 runs having now accumulated 3,173 at 32.71.

Clarence’s Jon Wells has been the most prolific run scorer in the decade, just short of the 6,000 run mark at an average of 49.00. After debuting in the 2003/04 season, Wells’ career aggregate stands at 6,499 runs @ 43.62 with 16 centuries from 164 matches. Wells has also been a contributor with the ball, taking 95 wickets @ 18.38.

Accompanying Wells at the top of the batting order is Dane Anderson. Although Anderson only played 65 matches in the period, the Glenorchy batsman-keeper scored over 3,000 runs in the period at the outstanding average of 53.47. Anderson’s CTPL career began in 2004/05 when he amassed 1,035 runs for the season at 57.50, which was the last occasion a batsman has surpassed the 1,000 run mark in a season in the competition.

Regardless of his extensive representative career South Hobart Sandy Bay’s Alex Doolan is selected at No. 3 after scoring 3,588 runs at 42.21 in the decade. The 2006/07 to 2008/09 period was Doolan’s most prolific, scoring 2,083 runs at 53.41 including winning the 2007/08 Rodwell Medal.

Named at No. 4 is University’s Graham Cunningham whose aggregate of 4,044 runs in the decade is surpassed only by Wells. Cunningham’s CTPL career began at New Town in 2000/01, before moving to University in 2002/03 and becoming one of the most consistent batsmen in the competition, with a career record of 6,471 runs @ 32.85 from 209 matches. Cunningham also captained University to their 2008/09 premiership.

All-rounders Luke Butterworth, Hamish Kingston and Nathen Wegman have all been included in the side considering their impressive records in both facets of the game.

Butterworth’s representative career, similar to Doolan, has not prevented the Glenorchy stalwart establishing an outstanding record in the CTPL. Since debuting for the Magies in the 1999/00 season, Butterworth has played 171 matches, scored 4,917 runs @ 30.73, and taken 255 wickets @ 18.02. Butterworth was also awarded the Roger Woolley Medal as the player of the final in Glenorchy’s 2013/14 Grand Final win over South Hobart Sandy Bay.

South Hobart Sandy Bay’s Hamish Kingston debuted in 2006/07 and has since claimed 219 wickets @ 20.46, and scored 2,016 runs @ 21.00 from 136 matches. 2013/14 was the most productive season for Kingston, taking 43 wickets at 12.95, and scoring 437 runs.

Nathan Wegman started his career with Clarence in 2000/01 playing for six seasons in two stints, before moving to New Town in 2008/09. Wegman has now taken 340 wickets @ 21.29 from a 195 game career, and contributed 3,553 runs @ 20.42.

Selected as wicket-keeper is South Hobart Sandy Bay’s Stuart Martin, who has claimed 260 dismissals in the period. Martin’s 279 career dismissals from 164 matches has him seventh in the list of most dismissals by a wicket-keeper in the competition’s history. Martin’s batting record is also noteworthy with 2,684 runs @ 19.04.

University leg-spinner Josh Bean and Lindisfarne paceman Matthew Wilkie round out the side.

Bean has established one of the most outstanding records in the competition over the past two decades. After debuting for Glenorchy in 1996/97, Bean crossed to University ahead of the 1998/99 season and has since played 297 CTPL games, currently just short of becoming the fourth player in the competition’s history to reach the 300 game mark.

From those 297 matches Bean has taken 478 wickets @ 21.31, and scored 2,129 runs @ 14.29. Bean is also now just 22 wickets shy of the University Cricket Club’s record of 495 wickets held by Ray Brown.

Wilkie’s career with Lindisfarne began in 2010/11, being a member of Lindisfarne’s premiership team that season. Over the subsequent seasons Wilkie has become one of the most reliable bowlers in the competition, taking 168 wickets from 81 matches at the outstanding strike rate of 33.63, and average of just 17.39.

Brett Geeves who led Glenorchy to back to back CTPL 1st Grade premierships in 2012/13 and 2013/14, a Kookaburra Cup, CTPL Twenty20 and CT Statewide Twenty20 title has been named coach of the side. Along with his coaching record Geeves’ playing record is also noteworthy, having played 192 matches for the Magpies since 1998/99 scoring 4,698 runs and taking 270 wickets.

Current National Panel umpire Sam Nogajski who has officiated in six Grand Finals in the period is selected, joined by Steven John who stood in the first four Grand Finals of the decade.

Kingborough has been the most successful club in the period with three premierships, whilst Glenorchy claimed two, Clarence, Lindisfarne, North Hobart, and University all with one title. The period also saw the introduction of the Twenty20 format to the season structure, and two clubs move home venues with Kingborough relocating to Kingston Twin Ovals and Clarence to Kangaroo Bay Oval.   


Last updated: Wednesday July 5, 2017 8:56AM