CTPL Team of the Decade 1996/97 - 2005/06
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:44AM

A star studded Team of the Decade line-up has been named for the 1996/97 to 2005/06 period, headlined by Andrew Dykes as captain.


Dykes debuted for Clarence in 1988/89, becoming a regular member of the team the following season and the most dominant batsman in the competition over the next 15 years.


From 271 matches Dykes scored 9,793 runs at an average of 44.11, the fourth highest aggregate runs in the competition’s history behind only Ron Morrisby (19,170), Emerson Rodwell (11,703) and Ken Burn (11,450). Dykes is one of only two players to have scored over 1000 runs in a season twice, amassing 1,061 in 1995/96 and 1,080 in 1997/98. In 1996/97 Dykes won the Rodwell Medal (then TCA Medal) scoring 848 runs for that season.


Dykes was also a key member of Clarence’s premiership teams of 1990/91 and the memorable 1994/95 Grand Final win over North Hobart. Chasing 1st innings target of 354, Dykes (81) and Roger Woolley (162) shared a 221-run fourth wicket partnership to set up the Roos two wicket victory which came from the last ball of the match. Later Dykes captained Clarence’s back to back premierships in 2002/03 and 2003/04.


In addition to his outstanding batting records, Dykes was also a useful contributor as a bowler for the Roos, claiming 238 scalps across his career, and a reliable fielder in the slips taking 182 catches, second only to Rodwell’s record 196 catches.


The second player to have scored over 1000 runs in a season twice, Todd Pinnington is named in the side as wicket-keeper. Pinnington debuted in the 1990/91 season, but it was the 1996/97 season scoring 1,122 runs at an average of 56.10 and 1997/98 with 1,080 at 54.00 that Pinnington dominated. Over a 191 match career Pinnington scored 6,243 runs at an average of 38.78.


As wicket-keeper in 2001/02 Pinnington set a competition record with 63 dismissals in a season, and holds the record for the most dismissals by a wicket-keeper with 394. Pinnington also enjoyed much team success, being a member of five North Hobart premierships between 1992/93 and 2001/02.


Most Dismissals by a Wicket-Keeper


University’s Tony Daly and Dene Hills, who also played at South Hobart Sandy Bay during the decade, are selected as the openers. Daly’s 109 match, 4,600 runs at 47.42 career peaked in 1999/00 when he broke a 100 year record of Ken Burn for the most runs in a season, amassing 1,185. University won the premiership the same season with a side that also featured Hills, Brad Thomas and Josh Marquet; all selected in the in the Team of the Decade.


Most Runs in a Season


Former Australian One-Day representative Michael Di Venuto is named at No. 3. Di Venuto’s career began with North Hobart as a 16 year-old in the 1988/89 season, before moving to Kingborough in 1996/97, and returning to North Hobart in 2003/04.


Regardless of his extensive representative career, Di Venuto played 193 CTPL matches scoring 7,842 runs at an average of 49.32 including 16 centuries. Di Venuto’s final season in 2011/12 was his most prolific, scoring 827 runs at 91.89.


Di Venuto was a member of six premiership teams, four with North Hobart in 1991/92, 1992/93, 1995/96 and 2005/06, including being named player of the final in 1992/93 after scoring 187 against University. Back to back premierships came with Kingborough in 1996/97 and 1997/98, in the first against Clarence scoring 138 and again being named player of the final.


All-rounders Dan Marsh, Adam Polkinghorne, Richard Allanby and Brad Thomas have been selected, all with outstanding career records.


Marsh arrived at North Hobart for the 1996/97 season, playing 120 games between that season and 2011/12 around a decorated first-class career. Scoring 3,636 runs at 39.52 and 166 wickets at 20.15, Marsh captained North Hobart’s 1998/99 premiership side, was a member of the club’s back to back titles in 2004/05 and 2005/06, and member of the 2009/10 premiership team.


Polkinghorne played nine seasons with South Hobart Sandy Bay from 2000/01 to 2008/09, amazingly winning the Rodwell Medal a record five times in that period. A genuine all-rounder from 134 games Polkinghorne scored 5,238 runs at 42.24, and claimed 344 wickets at 16.13.


Allanby’s lengthy career began in 1988/89 with South Hobart Sandy Bay, before crossing to Lindisfarne from 1998/99 to 2008/09. In 280 matches Allanby scored 7,925 runs at 29.91, claimed 278 wickets at 25.23, and captained Lindisfarne’s inaugural premiership in 2000/01.


Thomas is another all-rounder with a distinguished CTPL career. Playing 258 matches for University between 1987/88 and 2011/12, Thomas won the Rodwell Medal on three occasions in 1993/94, 1995/96 and 1998/99. Taking 370 wickets at 20.45, and scoring 6,632 runs at 31.82, Thomas was captain of University’s 1999/00 premiership team and a member of their successful 2008/09 side.


Mark Colegrave, the most prolific wicket taker in the competition over the last forty years, is selected to lead the bowling attack. Colegrave’s career tally of 294 matches is the fifth highest, and 744 wickets at 17.13 the seventh highest in the competition’s history.


Colegrave claimed over 60 wickets in a season on four occasions, the most 71 in 1999/00. In 1997/98 Colegrave won the Rodwell Medal after taking 68 wickets for the season, and again tied for the Medal with Graeme Cunningham in 2003/04.


Colegrave’s 13 Grand Final appearances is a competition record with Mike Hyland (Glenorchy), Brian Eade (New Town, North Hobart & Glenorchy), and Michael Granger (Clarence) the closest all with 11 appearances. Colegrave was a member of Clarence’s four premierships in a row between 1987/88 – 1990/91, including being player of the match scoring 100* after coming in as a night-watchman in the 1990/91 win over Brighton. Colegrave was also a member of the 1994/95, 2002/03 and 2003/04 premiership sides, and in the losing side of the 2005/06 Grand Final won by North Hobart, claimed record match figures for a Grand Final of 11/117.


Most Matches


Rounding out the side is University’s Josh Marquet who played 143 matches between 1994/95 and 2008/09. Marquet’s career tally of 384 wickets at 14.77 is highlighted by a competition record 81 wickets claimed in 1999/00, also tieing with Shane Jurgenson for the Rodwell Medal in that season.


Most Wickets in a Season


Peter Di Venuto is named coach of the side after leading Kingborough to back to back titles in 1996/97 and 1997/98, and follows in the footsteps of his father Enrico Di Venuto selected the previous decade. John Smeaton who umpired eight of the Grand Finals in the decade and Barry Jackman with six are named as the umpires for the period.


North Hobart enjoyed the most team success of the decade with four premierships, Kingborough and Clarence both won back to back premierships, whilst University and Lindisfarne each won one premiership.


Read more about previous CTPL Teams of the Decade here.

Last updated: Wednesday July 5, 2017 9:05AM