Team of the Decade 1946/47 - 1955/56 & 1956/57 - 1965/66
Date of Event Cricket Tasmania Premier League: Fri Sep 25, 2015 12:42PM


The two most prolific batsmen in the history of the competition, Ron Morrisby and Emerson Rodwell, headline selections in the CTPL Teams of the Decade for the 1946/47 – 1955/6 and 1956/57 – 1965/66 periods.


Morrisby’s club cricket career began when he debuted for South Hobart at the age of just 15 in 1930. Morrisby went on to play with South Hobart for twenty-five seasons and 295 games, amassing 16,083 runs at an average of 52.05 and scoring 43 centuries. Being from the Eastern Shore Morrisby joined Clarence when the club joined the competition in 1956/57 playing a further 65 games and scoring 3,087 runs, taking his career statistics to 360 matches, 19,170 runs at 50.45 and 48 centuries.


For Tasmania Morrisby played 51 matches scoring 2,596 runs at an average of 32.45. He first captained the state when aged 23, and remained captain for most matches until he retired from First-Class cricket in 1951/52. The Second World War impacted his prolific career.


In 1966 Morrisby was awarded Life Membership of the Association in recognition of his service on the Association Committee, acting as Manager for numerous representative sides, and of his playing achievements.


Morrisby was also selected in the two previous decades and is the only player selected in four of the fifteen teams of the decade.



Rodwell, who the competition’s player of the year award is named after, is named captain in both decades. Rodwell’s 1st Grade career began in 1938 as a 17 year old, continuing for 26 seasons until his retirement at the end of the 1963/64 season.

Rodwell is renowned for his leadership, having captained Glenorchy to eight premierships between 1948/49 and 1962/63. The next most successful captains in the competition by premierships are Ken Burn (Wellington) and Charles Eady (Break o’Day) with five each, and Max Combes (Kingborough) and Roly Hyatt (Clarence) four.

Rodwell scored 11,703 runs at 37.87 in his 293 match career, and was also a very capable bowler taking 355 wickets at 15.83. At First-Class level Rodwell appeared 18 times scoring 709 runs with a top score of 104 against Victoria.

Post playing Rodwell was an active member of the Glenorchy Cricket Club committee including preparing pitches for matches, and was an expert commentator for radio and television.

Also selected in both teams are Rodwell’s Glenorchy team mates Lloyd Smith and Doug Walton, Kingborough’s Keith Schmidt and one of the competition’s greatest bowlers Col Richardson. Richardson played 199 of his 224 games with North Hobart, with the others at South Hobart claiming 845 wickets at 11.46 across his career, the third highest in the competition’s history.

Smith, an opener, is one of just nine players to have played in ten or more Grand Finals in a 243 game career scoring 8,027 runs. Walton’s 206 matches and 6,726 runs also came during Glenorchy’s highly successful era. Schmidt has an accomplished all-round record having played all of his 217 matches for Kingborough, amassing 7,096 runs and taking 487 wickets.

Umpires Ken Gorman and Tom Kelly were each selected to umpire in four Grand Finals between 1959 and 1964.

During this period a number of changes were made within the competition;

-1948/49 North-West Hobart was renamed North Hobart

-1950/51 TCA Colts and Brighton were admitted

-1953/54 New Norfolk replaced TCA Colts

-1954/55 Semi-Finals and Final were introduced

-1956/57 Clarence replaced Brighton

-1959/60 New Norfolk were replaced with a second Glenorchy team

-1962/63 University replaced the second Glenorchy team

Glenorchy were the most successful club in the period winning nine premierships. New Town and North Hobart both won three, Kingborough and South Hobart two apiece and Sandy Bay one.


Last updated: Wednesday July 5, 2017 9:22AM