New Cripps Roar and WBBL Hurricanes Players Find Homes
Date of Event : Fri Sep 25, 2015 11:31AM

New Cripps Roar and WBBL contracted players allocated to CTPL clubs for seasons 2015/16 and 2016/17. 


In line with Cricket Tasmania's interstate and intrastate players policy, Cripps Roar and WBBL contracted players Julie Hunter and Emily Smith have been allocated to Glenorchy CC and Lindisfarne CC respectively while West Indian International Hayley Matthews will join reigning CTPL Women's Premiers North Hobart CC in the lead up to the WBBL. 


Speaking at the Cricket Tasmania season launch Hunter stated that she was excited by what she had seen already this preseason, following on from 2014/15 which was Tasmania's most successful season in both the WNCL and WT20 competitions. Hunter also stated that she is keen to get involved at the grass roots level and continue the development of Women's cricket in the state.  


Hunter has represented Australia on 56 occasions (24 ODI's and 32 Twenty20's) and last season played 10 matches (7 One-Dayers and 3 Twenty20's) for the Dandenong CC in the Victorian Women's Premier Competition. She bowled 73.2 overs and returned 18 wickets at miserly 14.11 and with the bat she scored 156 runs at an average of 19.50. 


Smith, who has been contracted to the Roar since 2013/14 season has this year relocated to Tasmania from Victoria for the full season and will feature in the CTPL when not on representative duties. Previously Smith has plied her trade in the Victorian Premier League with Essendon Maribyrnong Ladies Cricket Club. 


Hunter and Smith both participated in the 1st of the 5 match Women's Intrastate Cup Series on the 19th September making contributions with the bat, ball and gloves.

Matthews will jet into Hobart in the lead up to the WBBL where she will form part of the inaugural Hobart Hurricanes squad. At only 17 years of age, Matthews is an exciting all-rounder having played 15 internationals for the West Indies, 8 ODI's and 7 Twenty20's.  


Julie Hunter – Glenorchy Cricket Club

Emily Smith – Lindisfarne Cricket Club

Hayley Matthews – North Hobart Cricket Club


Last updated: Wednesday July 5, 2017 9:21AM
Author: Eamonn Doherty