PL Season Review 2015-16 (Women's)

On the 29th February 2016, North Hobart continued its dominance of the CTPL Women’s competition after it downed New Town by 9 wickets to win their third consecutive premiership.


 With persistent drizzle forcing the match to be reduced to 18 overs a-side, New Town were sent into bat and got off to a perfect start, with Erin Lawler and Paris Crowe combining for a 55-run opening stand, before Kirsten Allen claimed the breakthrough removing Lawler for 17. In the very next over, Kirstin Palfrey took the important wicket of Meg Phillips to have the Bucks at 2/61 off 10 overs.


 When Crowe was dismissed for 44 (off 34 deliveries) with the score on 80, Una Raymond-Hoey (25no off 19) and Jo Blacklow (10 off 20) partnered up to score at a run-a-ball to help New Town reach 4/108 off 18 overs. For North Hobart, Palfrey (2/27) and Allen (2/25) were excellent with the ball while Veronica Pyke was once again at her economical best, allowing only 11 runs from her four overs.


 Needing early wickets, New Town got off to a perfect start with Phillips removing Angela Green for just three, but Belinda Page (56 off 39) and Pyke (38 off 29) combined for an unbeaten 105-run stand to steer North Hobart over the line with six overs to spare.


 Belinda Page was named Player of the Final for her innings of 56 not out. It was the 2nd time Page has been named Player of the Final after she her win in North Hobarts first premiership against University in 2010/11