PL Season Review 2012-13 (Women's)

The fourth season of the CTPL Women’s competition consisted of fourteen rounds made up of twelve Twenty20 matches and two One-Day matches with all clubs playing each other home and away. Finals were Twenty20 encounters.


 North Hobart Demons dominated the competition to be undefeated minor premiers on 56 points, 14 points ahead of Kingborough, 16 ahead of New Town and 16.5 ahead of Lindisfarne who rounded out the top four.  The semi-finals were held back-to-back at Clare Street Oval with favourites North Hobart and Kingborough winning easily to progress to the Grand Final.


 At Anzac Park North Hobart were looking to defeat Kingborough and become the first Women’s team to go through an entire season undefeated. The toss went according to plan for North Hobart but the first few overs did not. Cripps Roar captain Veronica Pyke (29) provided most of the resistance as the Demons lost regular wickets to be all out in the 18th over for 72. For Kingborough it was Sasha Moloney claiming the best bowling figures of 3/8 in 2.1 overs after taking off the keeping gear. In the chase the Knights lost opener Maloney in the first over (run out by Pyke) but the experienced pairing of Emily Divin and Kristy Coppleman did not put a foot wrong to guide the Knights to an upset victory with 25 balls to spare for the loss of only one wicket.


 In doing so, Kingborough became the first club to defend the CTPL Women’s title having beaten Lindisfarne last season and are now also the only dual winner of the crown.