1976-77 CTPL Season & Grand Final Review


Cricket suffered from perhaps the worst weather conditions for years and the roster programme was severely hampered all summer.  Kingborough gate-crashed its way into the final four by soundly beating Sandy Bay and edged New Town out of the finals, on percentage, along the way.  There was little between the teams at the end of the roster and only percentage separated the top three teams, a scenario not unlike the previous season – Glenorchy, South Hobart and North Hobart all on 47 points, with Kingborough and New Town on 39.


The semis produced easy wins to Glenorchy and South Hobart.  North Hobart could manage only 156 after South Hobart, with opener Chris Hargrave scoring 107, amassed 332/7; and minor premier, Glenorchy was on song, defeating Kingborough outright.  Chasing Glenorchy’s 134, Kingborough struggled, scoring 86 (Mick Rodwell 7/41) and 77 (Kel Cobern 7/44).  Skipper Bruce Neill hit 152 in Glenorchy’s second innings score of 320/5.


The inclement weather which followed the cricketers all season did no favours for the finalists, more specifically second-placed, South Hobart.


Umpires Kevin Connor and Jim Stevens cancelled Saturday’s play and, after inspecting the wicket the following morning, abandoned the game when it became obvious no play would be possible.  Water had soaked under the covers and pools of water lay in the outfield.


Mercury reporter – John Hamilton