CTPL 2014-15 Season & Finals Report 


A rush of wins at the end of the roster season saw Glenorchy (81.8) squeeze past Kingborough (80) to top the ladder and confirm as premiership favourites; SHSB (74) and University (60) made up the final four - a status established early in the New Year unchallenged by the bottom four clubs.  Perenial finalists Clarence (45.9) struggled all season as the club had logistical difficulties working through its relocation programme following the redevelopment at Blundstone Arena which saw the club’s home pavilion demolished and plans to relocate to Kangaroo Bay progressed.  Lindisfarne and North Hobart (each on 30) had poor seasons and New Town with just one win was quite uncompetitive.


Last years’ finalists Glenorchy and SHSB lost their way in the semi-finals.  Glenorchy fell 64 runs short of University’s 229 at KGV and at Kingston Twon Oval, despite being well placed having scored 285 and in the box seat with Kingborough on 6/112, SHSB were thwarted by an undefeated seventh wicket partnership of 174 by Clive Rose (102*) and Brad Lovell (65*).


Glenorchy defeated Kingborough to take the Kookaburra Cup.  SHSB also defeated Kingborough to win the T20 title and went on to win the Statewide T20 final with an 81-run victory over Devonport and North Hobart again defeated Wynyard in the Womens State final.


Grand Final Match Report


The CTPL final was played at Kingston Twin Oval – the first time away from either the TCA Ground or Blundstone Arena – the consequence of an arrangement by Cricket Tasmania to accommodate a non-cricket event on the premier ground.  By way of consolation the grade clubs received additional funding and the decision to play the final at KTO resulted from club tenders.


Despite the excellent facilities it was cold and wet on the first day of the final.  The weather confined play to just 33 overs but it was enough for Tom Triffitt (63*) and Dominic Michael (52*) to give University an advantage with 2/131 at stumps after being sent to bat.  Earlier Kingborough got off to a strong start with Oliver Robinson dismissed for a golden duck by Jackson Bird and when Dominic O’Connor was run out attempting a second run the Lions were struggling at 2/25 until Triffitt and Michael came together.


After the loss of the overnight pair on the morning of the second day it was Tim Paine’s turn to hold up the Kingborough challenge.  He was gifted a life on 17 when Jake Steele dropped a chance at first slip, but went on to make his first century score all season before losing his wicket on 115, part of a collapse against the new ball.  At 4/300 University looked to have batted Kingborough out of the match but Jackson’s spell of 7/98 from 27.4 overs saw the Lions lose 6/58, including the last five for 18 runs.


Dismissed for 358 the umpires deemed the Kingborough attack was two overs down on it’s over count and added a 20-run penalty to University’s total.  The decision caused much angst and tempers flared; into the last session momentum swung from University to Kingborough which found itself back in the game thanks to Jackson’s bowling and an undefeated opening stand of 90 at stumps by the Knight’s Trent Rollins (55*) and Jason Shelton (27*) from 44 overs.


The potential of a thrilling third day was thwarted by driving rain just before lunch.  There was no further play thereafter.


On resumption Kingborough lost overnight batsmen Shelton (32) and Rollins (64) and Brady Jones (22) before the heavens opened.  Despite being 3/170 when further play was abandoned in reply to University’s 378 Kingborough was awarded the premiership after finishing higher on the ladder.


Kingborough coach Tim Scott was reflective.  “Given where the team had come from two years ago as wooden spooners, it felt like the result was a reward for our consistency of effort.  University played good positive cricket and after their three guns did really well with the bat we had to claw back into the contest which I’m proud to say we did.  Kingborough made the final in all three first-grade finals, losing the Kookaburra Cup and T20 titles and also made the seconds, thirds, Under 17s and Under 15s deciders, winning the two under-age titles.  We thought we would be ultimately rewarded with the senior premiership – although not with a victory but with a draw.”


Report by Brett Stubbs from “The Mercury” and Michael Gandy