Awards - Emerson Rodwell Medal History

Emerson Rodwell Medal History


The Emerson Rodwell Medal is presented to the 'best and fairest' player in the CTPL First Grade competition, as determined by votes cast by the officiating umpires after each home and away match.

In 2007, the 'CTPL First Grade Best and Fairest Player Award' was named in honour of Emerson Rodwell (12 April 1921 - 27 February 2011), a former player, commentator and war veteran, who played 293 matches and scored 11703 runs (including 29 centuries) for the Glenorchy District Cricket Club.  

To determine the best player, the two umpires confer after each home and away match and award  3 votes, 2 votes and 1 vote to the players they regards as the best, second best and third best in the match respectively. 

Since the inception of the CTPL Best and Fairest Player Award in 1975-76, South Hobart Sandy Bay all-rounder Adam Polkinghorne has claimed the most Emerson Rodwell Medals with five (2000-01, 2001-02, 2002-03, 2004-05 and 2008-08), followed by Clarence all-rounder Ian Beven with four (1984-85, 1985-86, 1986-87 & 1988-89).

Emerson Rodwell Medal winners from each season can be seen below


 Ian James (Glenorchy) 
 Andrew Dykes (Clarence)
 1976-77 Gary Maynard (North Hobart) 

 1997-98 Mark Colegrave (Clarence) 
 1977-78 Brent Palfreyman (Sandy Bay)

 1998-99 Brad Thomas (University)
 1978-79 Michael Allen (South Hobart)


 Josh Marquet (University) &

 Shane Jergensen (Lindisfarne)

 David Hughes (Sandy Bay)

 2000-01 Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB)
 Ray Brown (University)

 2001-02 Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB)
 Michael Allen (South Hobart)

 2002-03 Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB)
 Stephen Henley (New Town)


 Mark Colegrave (Clarence) &

 Graeme Cunningham (University)

 Michael Tame (Clarence)

 2004-05 Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB)
 Ian Beven (Clarence)

 2005-06 Jamie Cox (Lindisfarne)
 1985-86 Ian Beven (Clarence)

 2006-07 Stuart H Clark (Kingborough)
 Ian Beven (Clarence)

 2007-08 Alex Doolan (SHSB)
 Kevin Treweek (New Town)

 2008-09 Adam Polkinghorne (SHSB)
 Ian Beven (Clarence)

 2009-10 Andrew Kealy (University)
 Neil Lenhan (Brighton)

 2010-11 Mark Divin (Kingborough)
 Scott Smith (Glenorchy)

 2011-12 Mark Divin (Kingborough)
 Mark Atkinson (New Town)

 2012-13 Brett Geeves (Glenorchy)
 Roger Hughes (Glenorchy)

 2013-14 Jon Wells (Clarence)
 Brad Thomas (University)

 Luke Butterworth (Glenorchy)
 Martin Kelly (Lindisfarne)

 2015-16 Daniel Salpietro (Clarence)
 Brad Thomas (University)

 Harry Evans (Kingborough)

 Harry Allanby (Clarence) &

 Caleb Jewell (North Hobart)

You can find a full list of award winners from the Emerson Rodwell Medal Dinner by clicking MyCricket in the menu bar, hover mouse over Association and click Honour Board or click here.